Flying Heroes

Developer(s): Take 2 Interactive, Illusion Softworks, Pterodon


Flying Heroes is an arena based shooter game that takes place on various flying creatures. There are four clans to choose from, with varying creatures or machines for players. The four clans are: Sky Knights, Lizard Riders, Hammercraft, and Magion. There is also a multiplayer mode. In the beginning, or in the demo, only Lizard Riders and Magion are available choices. Sky Knights and Hammercraft become available when the career mode is beaten.

Career Mode

In career mode the player battles in three different leagues in a variety of arenas. Beginning with the Iron league, followed by the Silver league and culminating in the Golden league. In order to proceed onto the next league the player must be the highest ranked pilot in the league the end of each season. Each league dictates the flying machines/creatures available for purchase, from the weakest in the Iron league to the behemoths of the Golden league. The length of each match, matches per season, currency reward per frag, the prowess and quantity of enemies also increases in line with each league.

After completing the Golden league a cut-scene will show aliens coming down demanding some kind of payment before the final boss battle starts.

League Matches

A league match is always a death-match, with the objective being to shoot down as many opponents as possible while trying not to get shot down yourself. The reward for shooting down an opponent is one frag, with two awarded for eliminating the current leading pilot. When the player is shot down by one of their own projectiles or spells/abilities, one frag is lost from their score. If the player shoots down a teammate (Golden League players get an NPC wingman), two frags are deducted from their score. At the end of the match the pilot with the most frags wins and frags are converted into a currency reward for all pilots:

The second kind of league match is called a 'Frag Limit', in game they are classed as training matches. This is because they take place in the same arena as the main league match, but results obtained are not counted in the league rankings. The rules are similar to a standard league match, except that the winner is the pilot who reaches a pre-determined number of frags first. All other rules are the same, including currency reward values. These matches are always done as an alternative to a special match or quest, described below.

Special Matches and Quests

During the career there are various side missions that serve to complete an objective: such as locating three statuettes. The player can choose to participate in a side quest if they wish or do a training (frag limit) match. The player can even elect to skip straight to the next main league match, however the chance to earn any revenue is instantly forfeited. There is no prejudice on the player on choosing any of these options, as the game does not employ a renown based system. The different types of secondary match are described below.


The object in this match is not to get touched or 'tagged' by the pilot who currently has the 'Tag' - as it is referred to in-game. Each participant is given two minutes of time at the start of the match, which is deducted for any duration in which they have the Tag. Five seconds of time is gained when the player shoots down an opponent, but five seconds are lost when the player is shot down. The currently tagged pilot is invulnerable to any kind or attack from other pilots, however if the time on their tag counter expires they are eliminated from the match permanently. The initial tagged pilot is determined randomly and the winner is the pilot with the most time, on their counter, at the end of the match or the only pilot left surviving, if all others are eliminated. The tagged pilot is easily evident due to their violet color.

Destruction of Cannons

The object of this type of match is to clear a defined area of cannons - the area being the area that the match is taking place. The player is limited either by time or three lives in which to accomplish the objective. Upon completion a cash reward is received.

Object Acquisition

The object is to acquire all of the designated objects and the player is limited either by time or three lives. There are usually opponents, mines or cannons in the arena, serving to complicate the task. Upon completion a cash reward is received.

Elimination of Selected Opponents

The objective here is to shoot down the selected opponent(s). The player is limited either by time or three lives. Upon elimination of the opponent(s) a cash reward is received.


The four clans are generally quite diverse, each having different flying craft and weapons, with the hit points (HP) per craft and the damage done by each weapon varying greatly across the clans.